November 1, 2026 · 13 min read

Claude Code Course: Options and Learning Path

Graphic title card for the article “Claude Code Course: Options and Learning Path” with a stylised motif: an input field with a slash, below it an open list of short command lines.
Graphic: HumanITy

The official Claude Code course is free and comes from Anthropic: “Claude Code 101” in Claude Academy, with 12 lessons, one quiz and about 1.5 hours of material. Pass the quiz and you get a free completion badge. After that comes “Claude Code in action” (9 lessons, 1 hour) for longer sessions you no longer supervise step by step. The courses cost nothing, but to follow along you need, according to the course page, a Claude plan (Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise) or an API key. Everything here is as of November 1, 2026.

I work with Claude Code every day and run 14 AI employees on it, and I have not written a line of code myself in about a year and a half. The course details below come from the Academy's course pages and FAQ as of November 1, 2026, not from my own run through the courses. Everything about Claude is collected on my Claude page.

Anthropic's free Claude Code courses

From the Claude Academy catalog, these six courses matter for Claude Code:

Course What it covers Length Badge Prerequisite per course page
Claude Code 101 What a coding agent is, installing in the terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, Claude Desktop and the web, Plan Mode, the “Explore, Plan, Code, Commit” workflow, context, CLAUDE.md, subagents, skills, MCP, hooks 12 lessons, 1 quiz, 1.5 hr yes Basic familiarity with an editor and the command line; a Claude plan or an API key
Claude Code in action Steering long sessions, a lean CLAUDE.md, permission modes, hooks, routines, headless mode, GitHub Actions, code review, plugins 9 lessons, 1 quiz, 1 hr yes You already use Claude Code for single prompts; Git and the command line
Introduction to subagents Splitting tasks across parallel subagents 4 lessons, 45 min no not stated
Introduction to agent skills Building, sharing and troubleshooting skills 6 lessons, 1 hr no not stated
Introduction to Model Context Protocol MCP servers and clients with the Python SDK 10 lessons, 1 quiz, 1 hr yes not stated
The AI-native SDLC playbook Twelve plays for engineering, platform and security leads 14 lessons, 1 hr of reading no Claude Code day to day, a Git repository and a CI pipeline

According to the FAQ, you earn the completion badge once you pass all of a course's quizzes, and retakes are unlimited. The badge does not expire. You can download it as a PDF, put it on your profile with “Add to LinkedIn”, and share a public verification link. The Academy itself only needs a free Claude account. You need the paid plan once you actually run Claude Code while learning, and without that practice the course stays theory.

The official documentation

The Claude Code documentation is not a course, but it is the source every course builds on, and it reflects the current state. Start with the quickstart, which also lists the account types Claude Code accepts. With a German browser language, the Academy interface appears in German, while course descriptions, learning goals and lessons stayed in English on November 1, 2026.

Third-party Claude Code courses: the main types

Beyond Anthropic, many others offer Claude Code courses. I name no providers or prices here, only the types:

  • Video courses on learning platforms: recorded, at your own pace. A fit if you prefer watching to reading.
  • Paid courses from individual creators: depending on the provider, with Q&A sessions or a group. A fit if you want a specific teacher or language.
  • Seminars and in-house training for development teams: live, over one or several days. A fit if a whole team should start at the same time.
  • Free videos and tutorials: good for single questions.

Three questions help with any of these. When was the course last updated? Even the Academy FAQ expects code samples that no longer run because of deprecated flags. Do you work on your own project in the course, or on an example? And who issues the certificate, the vendor or the course provider?

For developers or without coding skills?

According to its course page, Claude Code 101 is aimed at developers: people new to software engineering and experienced engineers who have not yet worked with coding agents. It assumes basic familiarity with an editor and the command line, and the examples revolve around code, commits and pull requests.

You can use Claude Code itself without coding skills, because it edits any text file, not just source code. If you don't code, Claude Code: A Guide for Beginners is the better first step, and Claude Code 101 is worth it afterwards as an overview of terms like Plan Mode, subagents and hooks.

What a course can't replace with Claude Code

Anthropic says it in the best practices for Claude Code itself: the defaults stop being enough once your project has knowledge, rules or constraints that Claude can't see from the code alone. The docs give examples: a deploy process that lives in someone's head, a file that must never be read, and a check that has to pass before anything counts as done. No course knows these things. Only you do.

In my case, Sebastian, my SEO employee, works exclusively as a Claude Code terminal employee. Whether a report leaves the building or a fix gets deployed on a client site is not his call: I sign that off explicitly. You won't learn a boundary like that in any course. You write it down for your own project.

The most common mistake I made early on was waving changes through without really reading the summary. You learn to read what changed only on real files where you care that they are still right afterwards.

Learning path: Claude Code in five steps

  1. Set it up: install Claude Code and start it in the folder of a real, small project. The steps are in my guide for beginners and in the official quickstart.
  2. Work through Claude Code 101: try every lesson in your own folder right away, not at the end.
  3. Write down your own rules: create a CLAUDE.md for your project and learn the Claude Code commands you need every day.
  4. Claude Code in action: as soon as you hand off longer tasks. That includes keeping your sessions under control, which I explain in Claude Code Context Window and Compaction.
  5. Hand off one real task for good: a recurring piece of work that Claude Code does from now on and you approve. Pick up the courses on subagents, skills and MCP when you need them.

Where Claude Code sits on the bigger learning path is laid out in Learn Claude: The Path in Five Stages.

Badge or certification?

The Academy completion badge shows that you passed a course. A certification is something else: since July 23, 2026, Anthropic has offered four proctored exams, from $99 to $175 before any partner discount, delivered through Pearson, with a Credly badge valid for 12 months. The exam closest to Claude Code is “Claude Certified Architect: Foundations” at $125: it tests foundational knowledge of Claude Code, the Agent SDK, the Claude API and MCP.

Only people who work at organizations in the Claude Partner Network can take the exams, signed in with a company email address. For most freelancers and small teams, the badge is therefore the credential within reach. More on the other Academy courses and on certification is in my overview of Claude courses.

Claude Code with support: my offers

If you want help with your own case after a course, there are three ways to work with me:

  • Mini-course, free: five evenings, one AI project against the paperwork each evening, by email. It is not a Claude Code course but the step before it: a first task that actually runs. You can sign up on the templates page.
  • AI Employee Framework community: my English community on Skool about leading AI like an employee, with a weekly live Q&A call. Your AI employees run in Claude Code, in Codex or with an open model. Standard is $5 a month as a founding offer for the first 50 members, Premium is $149 a month, cancel anytime (as of October 29, 2026, per the page). There is no certificate, but there are answers for your own project. Details on the community page.
  • Claude training for teams: for development teams working with Claude Code, covering how to slice tasks, steer context, subagents, hooks, MCP, review and tests, on site or remotely. Held in German, English on request; price after an initial call. More under Claude training for teams.

Frequently asked questions

Is Anthropic's Claude Code course free?

Yes. According to its FAQ, Claude Academy is free, and a free Claude account is enough to save progress and earn badges. To actually run Claude Code while learning, the Claude Code 101 course page says you need a plan (Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise) or an API key.

Is there a Claude Code certification?

There is the free completion badge for Claude Code 101 and Claude Code in action. The proctored Claude certifications cost $99 to $175 and are only open to people who work at companies in the Claude Partner Network.

Claude Code 101 or Claude Code in action: where do I start?

With Claude Code 101. According to its course page, Claude Code in action assumes you already use Claude Code for single prompts, and then moves on to long, less supervised sessions.

How long does a Claude Code course take?

Claude Code 101 is listed at about 1.5 hours, Claude Code in action at one hour. These are Academy estimates; completion depends on passing the quizzes, not on time spent. Getting comfortable with Claude Code in daily work takes much longer, because practicing on your own project is most of the work.

Do I need coding skills for a Claude Code course?

For Claude Code 101, Anthropic assumes basic familiarity with an editor and the command line. Without coding skills, start with the guide for beginners instead.

Where you go from here

Start Claude Code 101 and open a small, real folder alongside it where you try each lesson right away. If Claude Code isn't running for you yet, start with Claude Code: A Guide for Beginners. And if you want to make progress on your own case afterwards, my community is where people are building the same thing right now.

Kevin Welter

Kevin Welter

Developer, IT architect, author of technical books (Kubernetes, cloud infrastructures) and speaker. Runs his business with an AI workforce of fourteen AI employees and shows solo business owners in his community how to hire their first AI employee.

More about AI employees

Your first AI employee up and running within an hour

Join the community

$5/month founding price, first 50 members